James Hockenberry

Reviews

2015 FAPA PRESIDENTS SILVER METAL
FAPA (Florida Authors & Publishers Association)
President’s Awards Banquet on Saturday, August 8, 2015
ADULT FICTION: HISTORICAL
Over Here, James Hockenberry,
HN Books
 fapa-silver-3

Reader Reviews 2015-2016
5.0 out of 5 stars James Hockenberry’s “Over Here” explores little-known, but significant events …
ByDacoon April 14, 2016 Format: Kindle Edition
James Hockenberry’s “Over Here” explores little-known, but significant events in the history of the United States—acts of German sabotage during World War I on American soil. Meticulously researched, the story is told with drama and flair, and fictional characters and events are seamlessly integrated with the true-to-life story.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling and fascinating read
ByChip Loebon February 5, 2016 Format: Kindle Edition
A thrilling and fascinating read that gave me a real feel of American life in the WW I era. It is rare to find a page-turner that provides so much historical color. There were dozens of times I stopped reading and thought about how my grandparents lived in NYC in that era, and how I knew so little about how people lived in that time, and more importantly, about how the war — before the US became involved — impacted life in the United States. It is obvious the author is not only a gifted storyteller but also an outstanding researcher. I can’t wait for book 2 of the series.
5.0 out of 5 stars So moved was I by the way Hockenberry weaved a brilliant story, yet taught me so much history of … ByBlack Hills Readeron October 9, 2015 Format: Kindle Edition
Rarely do I rate a novel so highly deserving of 5 Stars, but Hockenberry earned every one of them. So moved was I by the way Hockenberry weaved a brilliant story, yet taught me so much history of WWI I knew nothing about, I went out and researched where we were as a nation to commemorate the heroes of that forgotten war. After you buy and read James Hockenberry’s OVER HERE, check our this site, if you’re like me and want to honor our relatives who fought in The Great War… http://www.worldwar1centennial.org/index.php. Brilliantly written!
5.0 out of 5 stars “Hockenberry does a terrific job of bringing New York City to life in …
ByMort Zachteron February 22, 2015 Format: Kindle Edition
In his first novel, “Over Here,” Hockenberry does a terrific job of bringing New York City to life in this fast-moving spy thriller set during WWI. The book’s hero, N.Y.C. Bomb Squad Detective Sergeant Gil Martin, and its primary villain, Boer war veteran Danie Caarsens, are well-rounded characters whose family circumstances turn out to be equally tragic. A great deal of hard work has gone into researching the details that make “Over Here,” both fascinating and historically accurate. For example, I learned that the first international terrorist act in NYC history took place during WWI. “Over Here” would make a wonderful movie.
 
5.0 out of 5 stars German Saboteurs and Hard-Bitten Cops Fight it Out in Old New York
ByMark Tayloron January 26, 2015 Format: Kindle Edition
‘Over Here’ is a great thriller set in the run up to America’s entry into World War One. It’s 1915 and the German Empire is determined to keep America out of the war in Europe through any means necessary; either through peace rallies or sabotage. For the latter plan, Danie Caarsens, a veteran of the Boer War with a grudge against the British, is enlisted to carry out the coordinated decimation of American industry. Opposing him is Gil Martin, an honest cop of French descent from the NYPD’s bomb squad. Needless to say, after the German invasion of France, Martin is less than sympathetic to the German cause. Caarsens opens up his destructive bombardment, culminating with actual real life incidents that occurred in 1916.
Hockenberry recreates 1915 NYC in all its murky, hard-broiled detail with beautifully illustrated maps and landmarks throughout the novel, giving the reader where exactly they are. There are many real life historical figures interwoven in this narrative but they take second place to our fictional characters.
‘Over Here’ is a must-read for anyone who loves conspiracy and intrigue in a historical setting, especially if you’re interested in a period of American history that has largely been ignored.
 
Small Press Bookwatch: July 2015

 

James A. Cox, Editor-in-Chief, Midwest Book Review
The Fiction Shelf
 
Over Here
James Hockenberry www.jameshockenberry.com HN Books, LLC – info@jameshockenberry.com
9780991561209, $17.99, 470pp, www.amazon.com
Synopsis: A thriller set in America beginning in 1915, “Over Here” by James Hockenberry depicts German clandestine activities culminating in America’s entry into World War One. The plot is fast paced and duplicitous. “Over Here” is an international intrigue, a tale of espionage that unfolds as German agents attack America to stop the flow of goods and supplies to the Allies in a desperate German attempt to win the war.
 
Critique: An inherently fascinating and deftly crafted action/adventure tale of unexpected plot twists and turns, “Over Here” clearly established author James Hockenberry as an extraordinarily gifted writer who will leave his fully entertained readers looking eagerly toward his next literary venture. “Over Here” is enthusiastically recommended and certain to be an enduringly popular addition to personal reading lists and community library collections.
You have complete permission to utilize the review in any manner you deem useful for marketing and promotion. Additionally, this review will be archived on our Midwest Book
Review website for the next five years at http://www.midwestbookreview.com
I look forward to your next new title.
James A. Cox, Editor-in-Chief, Midwest Book Review
***
 
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ. Fast pace and entertaining. Hard to put down.
ByHung Do on January 6, 2015 Format: Kindle Edition
A GREAT READ!!! I am glad I bought it over the Holidays since I could not put it down. Read it cover-to-cover. The action is fast pace and the writing is crisp. If you are a fan of Robert Ludlum, you will love this book. It is well written and very entertaining. I will definitely add Jim Hockenberry as an author in my collection. Can’t wait to read his next one.
5.0 out of 5 stars Try it – what a great read!!
BySuz Mon September 28, 2015
I had a hard time putting this book down – and when I put it down it was because I didn’t want it to end. Not many books generate that response, trust me. The book is very well written, and a page-turner. The author enlightens and educates us about a part of American history with which so many of us are unaware, and brings history to life with great characters and story development. It’s been a long while since I enjoyed a book so much. Kudos to Mr. Hockenberry – we’re looking forward to Book 2.
5.0 out of 5 stars Over Here is a terrific read. It kept me up at night
ByCheryl M. Denaulton February 12, 2015
Over Here is a terrific read. It kept me up at night. The characters are complex but believable and the plot is unpredictable and moves at a fast pace. The author blends fact and fiction seamlessly. Can’t wait for the sequel!
5.0 out of 5 stars I’m Ready For Book 2
ByBarbara Haleon September 19, 2015
Great Read,historically correct fiction. The book has the feel of a mini TV series. Not easy to put down. I’m ready for the next book from James Hockenberry. Similar to a Clancy book. Daniel Hale
Dear Jim,
Just finished reading your book. In a word, masterful! By Chapter 3, I thought to myself, how is he going to tie all these moving parts together? You did and it was exciting and masterful! Great read! I couldn’t stop reading.  Best Regards!  Dan
***
Hi Jim,
You should be congratulated on a great book.  I started reading it the same evening that I got it and have not able to put it down since and I finally finished just a few minutes ago and I thought I should let you know that it is well written and very entertaining. I would put your book right up there with Robert Ludlum, fast pace and mesmerizing.
Jim Hockenberry will be an author in my collection. The only disappointment was when I finished it.  Can’t wait to read your next one… Regards, HMD
***
Hi Jim,
I just finished “Over Here”. I could not put it down. This would make a great movie. I would mail copies to all the Executive Producers of movies that have a similar theme such as the Borne movies. It Is OK to be a “shameless self-promoter” something that I was accused of being.      Bob
***
Date: Jul 27, 2015 7:48:14 PM Subject: Well done!
To: ‘Jim Hockenberry Hi, Jim I finished your book last night. It is a terrific read! You should be very proud. I really liked the fast pace and the short chapters. It was very effective, like the rat-tat-tat of a machine gun. I also thought you did a fine job of character development. I look forward to your next book! Jim ***
2015 Independent Book Publishers Association,
Ben Franklin Awards
*“Cover is very attractive, and it would attract someone to pick it up….The section illustrations are beautiful”
* “Good use of dialogue and descriptive narrative.”
* “I loved the pace and complexity of the story. There were no loose ends. I really liked that. Mr. Hockenberry tells quite the tale with precision and deceptive simplicity. I was gripped and wracked and tense as I forded the chapters – absorbing the words that took me to the conclusion and Martin understands of his own tortured soul. For WWI aficionados, this is a must read. For mystery and suspense devotees, this is something unique and interesting.”
***
 “The Wall Street piece was captivating.” (7/3/2015)JH
***
 “I loved it. Truly. Very informative about the era.” (5/18/2015)RP
***
“I’m overwhelmed with your novel. It’s fantastic!!!! The way you write gives me a picture as if I were in the story. Congrats!!! The topic is exciting – as well as the way you created the storyline. Wow!” (01/25/2015)RWH
***
“You should be proud of what you’ve accomplished. It’s a wonderful
first book. It moves. It is well-written. And I really cared about some of the characters like poor Wittig. Your heavy, Caarsens, is a multi-faceted bad guy. At the end of the book, before the big battle scene at Morgan bank, I felt myself caught up in the excitement and really wanted to see how it would play out.” (05/22/2015)MZ
***
Thoroughly enjoyed the narrative! … Loved the weaving together of the different threads and will look forward with great expectation to your next “tome.” (01/30/2015)JR
***
 I thoroughly enjoyed “Over Here,” especially interesting because I could identify with most if not all of the venues, having grown up and lived in the New York area all my life. Being a sailor, I knew exactly how Caarsens navigated the East River into the Sound to Milton Point, near the American Yacht Club in Rye, where I often sailed. My parents when they were dating would meet “under the clock” at the Biltmore Hotel, and my father took me to Luchow’s on Fourteenth Street many times on the IRT express from Grand Central. Having visited Johannesburg several times on business, I am partially aware of South African history, but didn’t realize how brutal the British were, a la the Japanese in “Unbroken.” (02/01/2015) AS
***
Jim, Over Here …  is a wonderful and fast moving book.   I started reading the book shortly after receiving it, and was quickly taken in.   After 30 pages, I had to put it down to prepare for our Cape May trip.   Last Thursday, our first day at the beach, I recapped the first 30 pages, and continued reading it each day at Cape May (returning Sunday evening) and just finished the book this afternoon.   It’s always hard to put a good book down, but even harder when it ends.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Over Here.  I am also grateful for the ‘Author’s Note’ section, separating fact from fiction, as the it was hard to comprehend anything fictional. Clearly your integration of historical events with fictional creation was well done and added to the intrigue of this book.   You are an excellent and descriptive writer and story teller.  I look forward to your next book, So Beware. PH